Which team won the most prize money at the Tour de France?

One team walked away from the Tour de France with almost €600,000 in prize money, while one only picked up €14,100

Team Sky’s prize money kitty was boosted to the sum of almost €600,000 thanks to Chris Froome‘s overall win at the Tour de France.

The British team topped the prize money list yet again by sealing top spot on the podium, head and shoulders above Ag2r La Mondiale and Movistar in second and third.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Froome’s €500,000 prize for winning the race certainly helped Sky to the top of the list, with Romain Bardet in second netting €200,000 and Nairo Quintana getting €100,000 for Movistar’s fund.

Prize money is usually paid at the end of the season by Tour organiser ASO and it is traditional for it to be shared out between all the members of the team, including those behind the scenes.

It’ll be a small payday for the Cannondale-Drapac riders and staff, though, who only have €14,100 to share between them, the least of any team by over €6,000.

Final prize money list
Team Sky – €599,240
Ag2r La Mondiale – €247, 140
Movistar – €229,350
Tinkoff – €189,470
Orica-BikeExchange – €158,810
BMC – €121,170
Lotto-Soudal – €90,860
Dimension Data – €88,590
Etixx-Quick Step – €87,610
Katusha – €68,500
IAM Cycling – €67,230
Lampre-Merida – €61,900
Giant-Alpecin – €51,570
Astana – €39,430
Bora-Argon 18 – €32,730
Direct Energie – €29,290
FDJ – €27,870
Trek-Segafredo – €26,360
Cofidis – €22,760
LottoNL-Jumbo – €21,750
Fortuneo-Vital Concept – €20,120
Cannondale-Drapac – €14,100