Vincenzo Nibali wins Milan-San Remo with heroic solo attack on the Poggio

Nibali holds off the sprinters to become first Italian victor of Milan-San Remo since 2006

Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2018 editions of Milan-San Remo

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) delivered the heroic Milan-San Remo victory that the Italian fans would have dreamed of with a spectacular solo attack over the Poggio.

With a headwind discouraging attacks for the vast majority of the race and the sprinters' teams seemingly in control, the 109th edition of Milan-San Remo came down to battle royale on the Poggio and the descent that followed.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.