Julian Alaphilippe takes superb Tour de France stage 10 win as Greg Van Avermaet extends lead on first mountain stage

Yellow jersey makes it into the day's break to extend GC lead beyond two minutes

Julian Alaphilippe celebrates his spectacular victory on stage 10 of the Tour de France

(Image credit: MARCO BERTORELLO/AFP/Getty Images)

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) took an emphatic victory on stage 10 of the Tour de France, as Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) managed to extend his lead at the top of the general classification on the first mountain stage.

Both Alaphilippe and the yellow jersey of Van Avermaet were part of a large breakaway group that went clear early on the 158.5km stage in the Alps, with Alaphilippe looking incredibly strong from the very start while Team Sky took control of the peloton behind.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1