Who's out of the Giro d'Italia 2019 after stage 16?

A quick look at who's abandoned the Giro d'Italia 2019 so far

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale) rode just one hour into stage 16 of the Giro d'Italia, before abandoning with a knee injury.

The Frenchman was the team's joint leader for the race, alongside Alexis Vuillermoz.

The stage began with one less rider, as Mitchelton-Scott's Brent Bookwalter did not start, citing health issues.

Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Ineos) was forced to abandon the race on stage 13 of the Giro d'Italia, following a crash.

The team has confirmed via a Twitter update that 'he is ok', adding that the team doctor was attending to the 24-year-old.

A second British rider - James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) - was also left unable to start the stage, withdrawing following injuries sustained in a crash on stage four.

The British rider sustained a knee injury which has not healed as hoped.

The stage, with its testing climbs, claimed several other victims including Mark Renshaw - whose Dimension Data team commented "it was always going to be a tough day for the remaining fast men", Ignatas Konovalovas (Groupama - FDJ), who was suffering from sciatica, and Giovanni Lonardi (Nippo-Fantini-Faizanè).

Neither Giacomo Nizzolo (Team Dimension Data) or Roger Kluge (Lotto Soudal) started the day.

As expected, sprinters Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) and Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick Step) did not start stage 12, abandoning the Italian race as the climb hungry section of the 2019 route got underway.

Whilst Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) remained in the race following a hard crash on stage 10, Trek-Segafredo's Matteo Moschetti who was also caught up in the tumble did not begin stage 11.

Stage seven saw two key riders abandon: Fernando Gaviria and Laurens De Plus (Jumbo Visma).

Gaviria's UAE Team Emirates team cited knee pain which the Colombian had been managing for several days as the reason behind his withdrawal.

De Plus, a key wingman for general classification hopeful Primož Roglič, "was a victim of the fast start to the stage which lasted over 80 km," according to a statement published by the team.

Injury prevented Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) from riding more than two kilometres of stage five of the race.

The former Giro winner and team's general classification hope was caught up in a crash on stage four, resulting in a deep laceration and swelling at the knee.

Kristijan Koren (Bahrain–Merida) did not start stage five, after he was suspended by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) for 'potential Anti-Doping Rules Violations'.

Koren was one of four current and former riders to be suspended - alongside former pro Alessandro Petacchi, current UAE Team Emirates rider Kristijan Đurasek and ex-pro and current Bahrain-Merida sports director Borut Božič.

>>> Giro d'Italia start list 2019

Juan Sebastián Molano (UAE Team Emirates) did not start stage four of the race, with his team withdrawing him citing "unusual physiological results" following internal testing.

The first to leave the race was Hiroki Nishimura (Nippo Vini Fantini Faizanè).

The Japanese rider missed the time cut on the 8.2 kilometre individual time trial, on Saturday May 11.

Who is out of the Giro d'Italia after stage 16?

Stage 16

  • Brent Bookwalter (Mitchelton-Scott) - did not start - health issues 
  • Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale) - did not finish - knee injury

Stage 15

  •  Jasper De Buyst (Lotto-Soudal) - did not finish

Stage 14

  • Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb) - did not finish
  • Enrico Barbin (Bardiani-CSF) - did not finish

Stage 13

  • Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Ineos) - crash
  • Ignatas Konovalovas (Groupama - FDJ) - did not finish, injury (sciatica)
  • Giovanni Lonardi (Nippo-Fantini-Faizanè) - did not finish
  • Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data) - did not finish ('tough day for the fast men')
  • Giacomo Nizzolo (Team Dimension Data) - did not start
  • James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) - did not start, crash injuries
  • Roger Kluge (Lotto Soudal) - did not start

Stage 12

  • Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) - did not start
  • Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick Step) - did not start

Stage 11

  • Matteo Moschetti (Trek-Segafredo) - did not start, crash

Stage nine

  • Umberto Orsini (Bahrain-CSF) - did not start

Stage seven

  • Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) - knee injury
  • Laurens de Plus (Jumbo Visma) - out paced

Stage six

  • Robert Power (Sunweb) - crash
  • Laurens ten Dam (CCC Team) - rib pain following crash

Stage five

  • Kristijan Koren (Bahrain–Merida) - doping allegations
  • Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) - injury following crash on stage four
  • Jelle Vanendert (Lotto Soudal) - inflammation and pain in the knee

Stage four

  • Juan Sebastián Molano (UAE Team Emirates) - did not start the stage, withdrawn by team following "unusual physiological results."
  • Matti Breschel (EF Education First) - ankle pain
  • Daniel Navarro (Team Katusha Alpecin) - crash, perforated lung

Stage one

  • Hiroki Nishimura (Nippo Vini Fantini Faizanè) - missed time cut

This article will be updated as the race progresses. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1