Tour of Britain 2012: Coverage index

The 2012 Tour of Britain starts on Sunday September 9 in Ipswich, Suffolk, and finishes in Guildford, Surrey, on Sunday September 16.

We will be covering the race in full, with daily stage reports, photo galleries, rider interviews, post-stage analysis and more.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

All of our articles will be linked from this page, making it easy for you to keep track of everything that is happening in this year’s Tour of Britain.

Keep checking back for the very latest updates.

Tour of Britain 2012: Stages

Stage Date From To Length Preview Report Photos
Stage 1 Sunday September 9 Ipswich Norfolk Showground, Norwich 199.6km >>>>



Stage 2 Monday September 10 Nottingham Knowsley Safari Park 178km >>>>



Stage 3 Tuesday September 11 Jedburgh Dumfries 161.4km >>>>



Stage 4 Wednesday September 12 Carlisle Blackpool 156km >>>>



Stage 5 Thursday September 13 Stoke-on-Trent Stoke-on-Trent 146.9km >>>>



Stage 6 Friday September 14 Welshpool Caerphilly 189.8km >>>>



Stage 7 Saturday September 15 Barnstaple Dartmouth 170.7km >>>>



Stage 8 Sunday September 16  Reigate Guildford 147.7km >>>>



Click on the map to enlarge in new window

Tour of Britain 2012: Latest news

Basso lands in London, ready for new experience

Daily live TV coverage for Tour of Britain

Great Britain team announced for Tour of Britain

Tour of Britain 2012: Start list

Ivan Basso to lead Liquigas at Tour of Britain

Tour of Britain 2012 teams unveiled

Tour of Britain 2012 route revealed

Tour of Britain 2012: Reports

Stage eight: Tiernan-Locke wins overall as Cavendish takes final stage

Stage seven: Urtasun wins stage as Tiernan-Locke extends lead

Stage six: Tiernan-Locke moves into lead as Koenig takes stage

Stage five: De Maar takes solo Stoke win as race takes shape

Stage four: Cavendish strikes jackpot in Blackpool

Stage three: Cavendish takes Tour of Britain stage three

Stage two: Howard edges out Cavendish to win Tour of Britain stage two

Stage one: Rowe takes Tour of Britain opener after Cavendish crashes

Tour of Britain 2012: Photos

Stage eight by Andy Jones

Stage eight start by Nigel Wynn

Stage seven by Andy Jones

Stage six gallery by Andy Jones

Stage five gallery by Andy Jones

Stage four gallery by Andy Jones

Stage three gallery by Andy Jones

Stage two gallery by Andy Jones

Stage one gallery by Andy Jones

Tour of Britain 2012 pre-race gallery by Andy Jones

Tour of Britain 2012: Videos

Stage one video preview

Tour of Britain 2012: Teams
Tour of Britain 2012: start list>>
AN Post Sean Kelly Cycling Team
Endura Racing
Euskaltel Euskadi
IG-Sigma Sport
Node4 Giordana Racing
Orica GreenEdge
Rapha Condor
Saur Sojasun
Sky Pro Cycling
UK Youth

Tour of Britain: Previous winners
2011 Lars Boom (Netherlands)
2010 Michael Albasini (Switzerland)
2009 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
2008 Geoffroy Lequatre (France)
2007 Romain Feillu (France)
2006 Martin Pedersen (Denmark)
2005 Nick Nuyens (Belgium)
2004 Mauricio Ardila (Colombia)

Tour of Britain: Last year’s top ten (2011)
1. Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank
2. Steve Cummings (GBr) Sky at 36 secs
3. Jan Barta (Cze) NetApp at 55 secs
4. Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard-Trek at 57 secs
5. Jonathan Tiernan Locke (GBr) Rapha Condor Sharp at 1-03
6. Iker Camano (Spa) Endura at 1-07
7. Jelle Wallays (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen at 1-12
8. Joost Posthuma (Ned) Leopard-Trek at 1-13
9. Leopold Koenig (Cze) NetApp at 1-19
10. Daniel Lloyd (GBr) Garmin-Cervelo at 1-25

Related links

Tour of Britain 2011: Coverage index