After waiting for more than a year for confirmation, Oscar Pereiro has finally been named as the winner of the 2006 Tour after Floyd Landis lost his appeal against a two-year ban on Thursday.

Landis had failed a test for synthetic testosterone during the 2006 Tour de France, which he won. The American rider then launched a lengthy legal proceeding in a bid to prove his innocence. However, as reported yesterday on, an arbitration panel upheld the two-year ban and ruled that the results of the testosterone test were valid.

Both Tour de France organisers ASO and cycling’s governing body, the Union Cyclciste International have now declared Spaniard Oscar Pereiro the winner of the 2006 Tour.