Tour de San Luis 2014: Preview and coverage

The 2014 edition of the Tour de San Luis, Argentina, starts on Monday, January 20, and runs until Sunday, January 26.

The UCI 2.1-ranked race has steadily grown over the past few years into an important early-season race for many teams, with a start list to match.

A total of 12 WorldTour teams will field squads in the race, with riders including Mark Cavendish, Tom Boonen (both Omega Pharma), Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), Peter Sagan (Cannondale), Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Taylor Phinney (BMC) and Nairo Quintata (Movistar). No Alberto Contador and his Tinkoff-Saxo team this year though, the squad has elected to miss the race.

In terms of quality, it’s a start list that closely rivals the Tour Down Under, the opening WorldTour race of the 2014 season that takes place at the same time. Certainly, San Luis offers more variety than the Australian race, with flat stages for the sprinters, mountains and an individual time trial packed into its seven days.

Stages two, four and six feature summit finishes. These three days, along with Friday’s 19.2km individual time trial, will inevitably shape the overall classification.

Despite the international field, ‘home’ Argentinian riders have scored the overall victory on four of the seven editions of the race – including Daniel Diaz last year (2013). Nibali won in 2010, and American Levi Leipheimer took the victory in 2012.

Cycling Weekly will be covering the 2014 Tour de San Luis with stage reports and analysis.

Tour de San Luis 2014: Stage reports and news
Stage six: Quintana extends lead
Stage five: Malori wins time trial, Quintana takes over lead
Stage four: Quintana wins, Gaimon clings onto lead
Mark Cavendish leads out Tom Boonen in San Luis
Stage three: Nizzolo wins stage
Stage two: Arredondo wins, Gaimon keeps lead
Adam Yates makes professional debut in Tour de San Luis
Stage one: Phillip Gaimon wins opening stage of Tour de San Luis

Tour de San Luis 2014: Stages
Stage 1, Monday January 20, San Luis to Villa Mercedes, 164km
Stage 2, Tuesday January 21, La Punta to Mirador del Potrero, 170.6km
Stage 3, Wednesday January 22, Tilisarao to Juana Koslay, 175.8km
Stage 4, Thursday January 23, El Potrero de los Funes to Alto del Amago, 168.7km
Stage 5, Friday January 24, San Luis to San Luis, 19.2km (ITT)
Stage 6, Saturday January 25, Las Chacras to Mirador del Sol, 184.4km
Stage 7, Sunday January 26, San Luis to Terrazas del Portezuelo, 148.1km

Tour de San Luis: Jerseys
There are four classification leaders jerseys in the Tour de San Luis:
Orange: Overall classification
Red and white: Mountains classification
White: Best young rider
Green and white: Points classification

Tour de San Luis 2014: Teams
Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela
Argentina national team
BMC Racing
Bretagne-Seche Environnement
Buenes Aires La Provincia
Colombia Coldeportes
Cuba national team
Jamis-Hagens Berman
Novo Nordisk
Omega Pharma-QuickStep
Rudi Project-Dataro
San Luis Somos Todos
Trek Factory Racing
United HealthCare
Uruguay national team

Tour de San Luis 2014 on TV

Online TV channel (Argentina) will be broadcasting coverage from the race

Mark Cavendish won the opening stage of the Tour de San Luis in 2013

Tour de San Luis: Past winners
2013 Daniel Diaz (Arg)
2012 Levi Leipheimer (USA)
2011 Marco Arriagada (Chi)
2010 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
2009 Alfredo Lucero (Arg)
2008 Martin Garrido (Arg)
2007 Jorge Giacinti (Arg)

Tour de San Luis: Last year’s top 10 (2013)
1. Daniel Diaz (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos in 24-03-16
2. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing at 33 secs
3. Alex Diniz (Bra) Funvic Brasilinvest at 39 secs
4. Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo-Tinkoff at 1-02
5. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) LottoBelisol at 1-47
6. Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia at 2-29
7. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) Androni Giocattoli at 2-34
8. Javier Acevedo (Col) Jamis-Hagens Berman at 3-00
9. Bart De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Belisol at 3-14
10. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana at 3-17

Tour de San Luis 2014: Official video preview

Related links
Star-studded cast for Tour de San Luis
Peter Sagan starts Classics build-up in San Luis
Mark Cavendish to start season in San Luis

Upcoming events