As the top-flight UCI WorldTour calendar drew to a close on Sunday with Il Lombardia, we cast an eye back over the season


Sunday’s Il Lombardia drew to a close the 27 events included in the 2015 top-tier UCI WorldTour season. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) had already tucked away the WorldTour title before he took to the start line of Il Lombardia, and his fifth place there put a final stamp of authority on the season-long ranking.

Although it was a very close-run thing, Valverde’s Movistar team topped the WorldTour team ranking ahead of Katusha, and his home nation of Spain also topped the WorldTour nation ranking. Movistar and Katusha riders occupy the top four places of the rider ranking.

The WorldTour rewards consistency throughout the year’s races, as well as wins. Valverde won two single-day races: Fleche Wallonne and Liege-Bastogne-Liege, but also placed highly in the Tour de France (third) and Vuelta a España (seventh), as well as several other key races.

Britain’s top performer was Chris Froome (Team Sky) in sixth place, after he won the Tour de France and Critérium du Dauphiné.

Chris Froome on stage eleven of the 2015 Tour de France

Chris Froome is followed by Alejandro Valverde and Nairo Quintana during the Tour de France

There were several teams that came away without much to show for the 2015 season, namely Cannondale-Garmin and IAM Cycling. Cannondale-Garmin appears to be much less than the sum of its parts, formed from the former Garmin-Sharp and Cannondale teams. The American squad finished the year in 16th place out of the 17 WorldTour teams – last year, Garmin were 11th.

Cannondale-Garmin and IAM Cycling are not alone is having taken no overall WorldTour race wins in 2015: Ag2r-La Mondiale, Lampre-Merida, Trek Factory Racing, LottoNL-Jumbo and FDJ have also come away empty-handed aside from stage wins.

The major victories were shared out between just 10 teams, with Katusha sealing six wins and Team Sky five.

Change is on the way: the UCI recently announced some sweeping changes to the way that the WorldTour is run, starting from the 2017 season.

Here we set out who won what, and present the final rankings for the 2015 UCI WorldTour.

>>> WorldTour 2016 calendar

WorldTour 2015: Who won what?

Start End Event Winner Report
20.01 25.01 Tour Down Under Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing >>>
08.03 15.03 Paris – Nice Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky >>>
11.03 17.03 Tirreno – Adriatico Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar >>>
22.03 22.03 Milan – San Remo John Degenkolb (Ger) Giant-Alpecin >>>
23.03 29.03 Volta Ciclista a Catalunya Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky >>>
27.03 27.03 E3 Harelbeke Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky >>>
29.03 29.03 Ghent – Wevelgem Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha >>>
05.04 05.04 Tour of Flanders Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha >>>
06.04 11.04 Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha >>>
12.04 12.04 Paris – Roubaix John Degenkolb (Ger) Giant-Alpecin >>>
19.04 19.04 Amstel Gold Race Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Etixx-QuickStep >>>
22.04 22.04 La Flèche Wallonne Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar >>>
26.04 26.04 Liège – Bastogne – Liège Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar >>>
28.04 03.05 Tour de Romandie Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha >>>
09.05 31.05 Giro d’Italia Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo >>>
07.06 14.06 Critérium du Dauphiné Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky >>>
13.06 21.06 Tour de Suisse Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha >>>
04.07 26.07 Tour de France Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky >>>
01.08 01.08 Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge >>>
02.08 08.08 Tour of Poland Ion Izagirre (Spa) Movistar >>>
10.08 16.08 Eneco Tour Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto-Soudal >>>
22.08 13.09 Vuelta a España Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana >>>
23.08 23.08 Vattenfall Cyclassics Andre Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Soudal >>>
30.08 30.08 GP Ouest France – Plouay Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha >>>
11.09 11.09 Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx-QuickStep >>>
13.09 13.09 Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto-Soudal >>>
04.10 04.10 Il Lombardia Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana >>>


Race wins by rider (overall wins only, no stage wins included)
Two victories: Richie Porte, John Degenkolb, Alexander Kristoff, Alejandro Valverde, Chris Froome, Tim Wellens
One victory: Rohan Dennis, Nairo Quintana, Geraint Thomas, Luca Paolini, Joaquim Rodriguez, Michal Kwiatkowski, Ilnur Zakarin, Alberto Contador, Simon Spilak, Adam Yates, Ion Izagirre, Fabio Aru, Andre Greipel, Rigoberto Uran, Vincenzo Nibali

Race wins by team (overall wins only, no stage wins included)
1. Katusha 6 victories
2. Team Sky 5 victories
3. Movistar 4 victories
4. Lotto-Soudal 3 victories
5=. Giant-Alpecin 2 victories
5=. Etixx-QuickStep 2 victories
5=. Astana 2 victories
6=. BMC Racing 1 victory
6=. Tinkoff-Saxo 1 victory
6=. Orica-GreenEdge 1 victory
No victories: Ag2r-La Mondiale, Lampre-Merida, Trek Factory Racing, LottoNL-Jumbo, FDJ, Cannondale-Garmin, IAM Cycling

Race wins by nation (overall wins only, no stage wins included)
1 . Spain 5 victories
2. Great Britain 4 victories
3=. Australia 3 victories
3=. Germany 3 victories
3=. Italy 3 victories
4=. Colombia 2 victories
4=. Norway 2 victories
4=. Belgium 2 victories
5=. Poland 1 victory
5=. Russia 1 victory
5=. Slovenia 1 victory

Watch: Best of the 2015 Tour de France

Final 2015 WorldTour rankings

WorldTour points are awarded for one-day race, tour stage and stage race overall finishing positions for counting events. The amount of points awarded depends on the ranking of the event. For example, winning the Tour de France overall gives a rider twice as many points as winning the Eneco Tour overall. The full breakdown of awarded points is available via the UCI website.

Rider ranking
1. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar 675 points
2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha 474 points
3. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar 457 points
4. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha 453 points
5. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana 448 points
6. Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky 430 points
7. Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 407 points
8. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing 324 points
9. Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida 324 points
10. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 319 points
14. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 283 points
35. Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge 150 points
36. Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge 148 points
106. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Etixx-QuickStep 30 points
121. Luke Rowe (Gbr) Team Sky 20 points
159. Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Team Sky 6 points

Team ranking
1. Movistar 1619 points
2. Katusha 1606 points
3. Team Sky 1378 points
4. Etixx-QuickStep 1158 points
5. Astana 1106 points
6. BMC Racing 1010 points
7. Tinkoff-Saxo 929 points
8. Orica-GreenEdge 845 points
9. Lotto-Soudal 832 points
10. Giant-Alpecin 769 points
11. Ag2r-La Mondiale 587 points
12. Lampre-Merida 566 points
13. Trek Factory Racing 529 points
14. LottoNL-Jumbo 485 points
15. FDJ 439 points
16. Cannondale-Garmin 340 points
17. IAM Cycling 189 points

Nation ranking
1. Spain 1945 points
2. Italy 1106 points
3. Colombia 1099 points
4. Great Britain 1041 points
5. Belgium 905 points
6. France 881 points
7. Netherlands 848 points
8. Australia 777 points
9. Germany 587 points
10. Norway 453 points

  • Hi Louis. Route du Sud is not a WorldTour race, and is therefore not a counting event in the WorldTour rankings. Nigel

  • Louis Perry

    How is contador listed as only one win? giro and rute du sud overall???