2014 WorldTour team transfer round-up

With two WorldTour teams – Vacansoleil-DCM and Euskaltel-Euskadi – folding after the 2013 season due to lack of sponsorship, the professional rider market has been flooded with unsigned talent.

Most have found new homes – some dropping from the WorldTour to a second-tier Professional Continental outfit. There have also been a succession of high-profile retirements after the 2013 season, including Marco Pinotti, David Zabriskie, Juan Antonio Flecha, Andreas Kloden and Christian Vande Velde.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Here we chart who has gone where among cycling’s top-tier, WorldTour teams.


IN: Alexis Gougeard (from Veranda Rideau-Super U), Sebastien Turgot (from Europcar), Damien Gaudin (from Europcar), Patrick Gretsch (from Argos-Shimano), Maxime Daniel (from Sojasun), Alexis Vuillermoz (from Sojasun)

OUT: John Gadret (to Movistar), Valentin Iglinskiy (to Astana), Manuel Belletti (to Androni-Venezuela)


IN: Lawson Craddock (from Bontrager), Dries Devenyns (from Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Chad Haga (from Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies), Daan Olivier (from Rabobank Development)

OUT: William Clarke (to Drapac Cycling), Patrick Gretsch (to Ag2r)


IN: Valentin Iglinskiy (from Ag2r), Mikel Landa (from Euskaltel-Euskadi), Franco Pellizotti (from Androni-Giocattoli), Lieuwe Westra (from Vacansoleil-DCM)

OUT: Egor Silin (Katusha)


IN: Jonathan Hivert (from Sojasun), Nick van der Lijke (from Rabobank Development), Barry Markus (from Vacansoleil-DCM)

OUT: Mark Renshaw (to Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Tom Jelte Slagter (to Garmin-Sharp)

BMC Racing

IN: Darwin Atapuma (from Colombia), Ben Hermans (from RadioShack-Leopard), Peter Stetina (from Garmin-Sharp), Peter Velits (Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Rick Zabel (from Rabobank Development)

OUT: Adam Blythe (to NTFO), Mathias Frank (to IAM), Ivan Santaromita (to Orica-GreenEdge)


IN: Matej Mohoric (from Sava), Davide Formolo (from Petroli Firenze), Alberto Bettiol (from GS Mastromarco), Marco Marcato (from Vacansoleil-DCM)

OUT: None

Europcar (pending WorldTour licence)

IN: Jimmy Engoulvent (from Sojasun), Fabrice Jeandesboz (from Sojasun), Yannick Martinez (from La Pomme Marseille), Romain Sicard (from Euskaltel-Euskadi)

OUT: Sebastien Chavanel (to FDJ), Damien Gaudin (to Ag2r), Pierre-Henri Lecuisinier (to FDJ), Sebastien Turgot (to Ag2r)

Euskaltel-Euskadi (ends after 2013)

IN: None

OUT: Entire team, including Gorka Izagirre (to Movistar), Ion Izagirre (to Movistar), Mikel Landa (to Astana), Juan Jose Lobato (to Movistar), Mikel Nieve (to Sky), Romain Sicard (to Europcar)


IN: Sebastien Chavanel (from Europcar), Pierre-Henri Lecuisinier (from Europcar)

OUT: None


IN: Janier Acevedo (from Jamis), Dylan van Baarle (from Rabobank Development), Nathan Brown (from Bontrager), Lasse Hansen (from Blue Water Cycling), Phillip Gaimon (from Bissell), Ben King (from RadioShack-Leopard), Sebastian Langeveld (from Orica-GreenEdge), Tom-Jelte Slagter (from Belkin)

OUT: Michel Kreder (to Wanty), Martijn Maaskant (to UnitedHealthcare), Peter Stetina (to BMC Racing)


IN: Pavel Kochetkov (from Rusvelo), Alexander Rybakov (from Rusvelo), Egor Silin (from Astana)

OUT: Timofey Kritskiy (to Rusvelo)


IN: Rui Costa (Movistar), Sacha Modolo (Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox), Nelson Oliveira (RadioShack-Leopard), Mauro Richeze (Nippo-De Rosa), Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil-DCM), Gang Xu (Champion System)

OUT: Adriano Malori (Movistar), Davide Vigano (Caja Rural)


IN: Sander Armee (from Topsport Vlaanderen Baloise), Sean De Bie (from Leopard-Trek Continental), Kris Boeckmans (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Vegard Breen (from Joker-Merida), Tony Gallopin (from RadioShack-Leopard), Pim Ligthart (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Maxime Monfort (RadioShack-Leopard), Boris Vallee (from Colour Code Biowanze)

OUT: Gaetan Bille (to Verandas Willems), Vincente Reynes (to IAM Cycling), Frederique Robert (to Wanty)


IN: Gorka Izagirre (from Euskaltel-Euskadi), John Gadret (from Ag2r), Ion Izagirre (from Euskaltel-Euskadi), Juan Jose Lobato (from Euskaltel-Euskadi), Adriano Malori (from Lampre-Merida), Alejandro Marque (from OFM-Quinta da Lixa), Jasha Sutterlin (from Thuringer Energie Team), Dayer Quintana (from Lizarte)

OUT: Rui Costa (to Lampre-Merida), Angel Madrazo (to Caja Rural)

Omega Pharma-QuickStep

IN: Julian Alaphilippe (from Etixx-Ihned), Jan Bakelants (from RadioShack-Leopard), Thomas de Gendt (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Wout Poels (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Mark Renshaw (from Belkin), Rigoberto Uran (from Sky), Petr Vakoc (from Etixx-Ihned)

OUT: Sylvain Chavanel (to IAM Cycling), Dries Devenyns (to Argos-Shimano), Jerome Pineau (to IAM Cycling), Kristof Vandewalle (to Trek), Peter Velits (to BMC)


IN: Esteban Chaves (from Colombia), Caleb Ewan (from Jayco-AIS), Mathew Hayman (from Sky), Damien Howson (from Jayco-AIS), Ivan Santaromita (from BMC), Adam Yates (from CC Etupes), Simon Yates (from Great Britain Academy)

OUT: Fumiyuki Beppu (to Trek), Sebastian Langeveld (to Garmin-Sharp), Travis Meyer (to Drapac Cycling), Daniel Teklehaimanot (to MTN-Qhubeka)

Trek (RadioShack-Leopard)

IN: Julian Arredondo (from Nippo-De Rosa), Fumiyuki Beppu (from Orica-GreenEdge), Jasper Stuyven (from Bontrager), Fabio Felline (from Androni-Giocattoli), Frank Schleck, Kristof Vandewalle (from Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Boy van Poppel (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Danny van Poppel (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Riccardo Zoidl (from Gourmetfein-Simplon)

OUT: Jan Bakelants (to Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Tony Gallopin (to Lotto-Belisol), Ben Hermans (to BMC), Ben King (to Garmin-Sharp), Tiago Machado (to NetApp-Endura), Maxime Monfort (to Lotto-Belisol), Nelson Oliveira (to Lampre-Merida)

Saxo Bank (Saxo-Tinkoff)

IN: Michael Valgren (Cult Energy)

OUT: Mads Christensen (Cult Energy), Jonathan Cantwell (Drapac)


IN: Philip Deignan (from UnitedHealthcare), Nathan Earle (from Huon Salmon-Genesys Wealth Advisers)

OUT: Mathew Hayman (to Orica-GreenEdge), Rigoberto Uran (to Omega Pharma-QuickStep)

Vacansoleil-DCM (ends after 2013)

IN: None

OUT: Entire team, including Kris Boeckmans (to Lotto-Belisol), Romain Feillu (to Bretagne-Seche Environement), Thomas de Gendt (to Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Johnny Hoogerland (to Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela), Wesley Kreder (to Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Sergey Lagutin (to Rusvelo), Bjorn Leukemans (to Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Pim Ligthart (to Lotto-Belisol), Marco Marcato (to Cannondale), Barry Markus (to Belkin), Wout Poels (to Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Mirko Selvaggi (to Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Boy van Poppel (to Trek), Danny van Poppel (to Trek), Rafael Valls (to Lampre-Merida), Frederik Veuchelen (to Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Lieuwe Westra (to Astana)


Assan Bazayev (from Astana), Dirk Bellemakers (from Lotto-Belisol), Baden Cooke (Orica-GreenEdge), Juan Antonio Flecha (from Vacansoleil-DCM), Bert Grabsch (from Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Yann Huguet (from Argos-Shimano), Robbie Hunter (from Garmin-Sharp), Andreas Kloden (from RadioShack-Leopard), Anders Lund (from Saxo-Tinkoff), Marco Pinotti (from BMC Racing), Thomas Rohregger (from RadioShack-Leopard)Christian Vande Velde (from Garmin-Sharp), Jurgen van de Walle (from Lotto-Belisol), David Zabriskie (from Garmin-Sharp)