Giro d'Italia 2017 full route map

The 2017 Giro d’Italia will be the 100th edition of the Italian Grand Tour, and as such the route aims to visit as many regions of Italy as possible.

The route of the Giro d’Italia 2017 includes three rest days to facilitate the extra travel time needed, alongside two individual time trials. In case once wasn’t enough, the peloton will ascend the Italian legend, the Stelvio climb, twice over the course of the race.

To mark the centenary of the race, it will finish in Milan – which hosted the Grande Partenza and conclusion of the first ever edition, in 1909.

As was the case back in 2012 when Ryder Hesjedal secured victory on the final stage, the 2017 Giro d’Italia will end with an individual time trial.

The key details:

  • Dates: May 5-28, 2017
  • Stages: 21
  • Grande Partenza: Alghero, Sardinia
  • Finish: Milan

Read more:

The high mountain stages that precede the stage 21 race against the clock could mean that the pink jersey wearer is already out of reach, but a time trial rather than a processional sprint stage should make for exciting viewing.

Riding for the newly formed Bahrain-Merida squad, present champion Vincenzo Nibali looks set to defend his crown. The race will visit his home town of Messina, further encouraging him to take the start on Sardinia on Friday May 5.

The other former winner expected to be on the start list is Nairo Quintana, with the Movistar rider looking to take the pink jersey like he did in 2014, before travelling to the Tour de France in an attempt to be the first rider to achieve the Giro/Tour double since Marco Pantani in 1998.

Team Sky‘s Giro d’Italia challenge will be co-led by Geraint Thomas and Mikel Landa, with Landa having finished third behind Fabio Aru and Alberto Contador in 2015, while Thomas is being given his first chance to lead at a Grand Tour.

Fabio Aru (Astana) is the final Grand Tour winner who was expected to take to the start line in Sardinia. However, Aru confirmed he would not be on the start line in April, following a crash on a training ride which left him with knee injuries.

Other contenders include Bauke Mollema, Steven Kruijswijk, the Adam Yates, Ilnur Zakarin, and Thibaut Pinot.

As for the sprinters, there are fewer of them to have confirmed their participation, but expect the usual Italian fastmen such as Sacha Modolo, Giacomo Nizzolo, and Jacub Mareczko, as well as Caleb Ewan, André Greipel, and Fernando Gaviria.

Giro d’Italia Top 10 in 2016

Vincenzo Nibali on stage twenty-one in 2016 - he will ride the Giro d'Italia 2017 edition too

Vincenzo Nibali on stage twenty-one in 2016 – he will ride the Giro d’Italia 2017 edition too

The 2016 edition of the Giro d’Italia saw Astana’s Vincenzo Nibali take the win, 52 seconds ahead of Esteban Chaves from Orica-GreenEdge with Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) in third.

The King of the Mountains jersey went to Mikel Nieve of Team Sky, Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) scooped up the Points jersey whilst Bob Jungels (Etixx-Quick Step) was awarded Best Young Rider.

The top 10 on General Classification, after the final (neutralised) stage, was as follows:

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, at 86-32-49
2. Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-GreenEdge, at 52s
3. Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar, at 1-17
4. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, at 1-50
5. Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff, at 4-37
6. Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx-Quick Step, at 8-31
7. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale, at 11-47
8. Andrey Amador (CRC) Movistar, at 13-21
9. Darmin Atapuma (Col) BMC, at 14-09
10. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr), at 16-20

Key info: Route guide | Start list | Contenders | TV guide
Key riders: Vincenzo Nibali | Nario Quintana | Geraint Thomas | Fabio Aru
Previous editions: 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Giro d'Italia 2017

quintana nibali thomas giro d'italia start list

The start list of the Giro d'Italia 2017 is beginning to look incredibly strong, with Nairo Quintana and Vincenzo Nibali likely to ride