Giro d’Italia

Dates: Saturday May 9 – Sunday May 30
Stages: 21
Grande Partenza: Budapest, Hungary
Finish: Milan

Richard Carapaz finishing stage 15 of the Giro d’Italia 2019 (Luk Benies/AFP/Getty Images)

The Giro d’Italia is one of cycling’s three Grand Tours, along with the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España. It is the first of the three week races of the cycling season, usually taking place in May into early June.

As you might expect, the race predominantly takes place within its home country of Italy, but has frequently visited other nations in its 102 editions so far.

This year’s edition of the race is expected to attract some serious talent, as plenty of riders opt to skip the Tour de France in favour of the more rugged racing in Italy.

Team Ineos will be sending their new star signings Richard Carapaz and Rohan Dennis to the race. Carapaz will wear the number one as the reigning Giro champion, while Dennis will put the world time trial champion’s colours on display.

Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale) will also be racing this year’s Giro as he tries to reinvigorate his Grand Tour ambitions, while Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) will be making his Giro debut this season.

The 2020 Giro d’Italia will visit Hungary this year for three stages before returning to Italy for the remaining 18 stages.

The Giro is well known for its long, high mountain stages in the Alps and Dolomites, making famous names of climbs like the Passo dello Stelvio, Passo Gavia, Monte Zoncolan, Passo di Mortirolo and Passo Giau among others. But the Giro is often decided by it’s testing time trials, with the 2020 edition featuring three, including one on the final day.

Anyone hoping to win the Giro overall will also need to navigate numerous sprint stages and medium mountain stages, which offer up opprtunities to riders looking for prestigious individual stage wins that can define careers.

Giro d’Italia 2020 route

Stage Date Start Finish Distance Terrain
1 Sat May 9 Budapest Budapest 9.5km ITT
2 Sun May 10 Budapest Györ 193km Flat
3 Mon May 11 Székesfehérvár Nagykanizsa 197km Flat
4 Tues May 12 Monreale Agrigento 136km Hills
5 Weds May 13 Enna Etna 150km Mountains
6 Thurs May 14 Catania Villafranca Tirrena 138km Hills
7 Fri May 15 Mileto Camigliatello Silano 223km Hills
8 Sat May 16 Castrovillari Brindisi 216km Flat
9 Sun May 17 Giovinazzo Vieste 190km Hills
Mon May 18 Rest day
10 Tues May 19 San Salvo Tortoreto Lido 212km Hills
11 Weds May 20 Porto Sant’Elpidio Rimini 181km Flat
12 Thurs May 21 Cesenatico Cesenatico 206km Hills
13 Fri May 22 Cervia Monselice 190km Flat
14 Sat May 23 Conegliano Valdobbiadene 33.7km ITT
15 Sun May 24 Rivolto Piancavallo 183km Mountains
Mon May 25 Rest day
16 Tues May 26 Udine Valdobbiadene 226km Mountains
17 Weds May 27 Bassano del Grappa Madonna di Campiglio 202km Mountains
18 Thurs May 28 Pinzolo Lago di Cancano 209km Mountains
19 Fri May 29 Morbegno Asti 251km Flat
21 Sat May 30 Alba Sestriere 200km Mountains
21 Sun May 31 Cernusco di Naviglio Milan 16.5km ITT

Giro d’Italia 2020 jerseys

Richard Carapaz in the pink jersey after stage 14 of the Giro d’Italia 2019 (Yuzuru Sunada)

The leader’s jersey at the Giro d’Italia is the maglia rosa – it’s the pink jersey that sits aboard the shoulders of the rider who has completed the stages in the shortest amount of time.

The sprinter’s jersey – the maglia ciclamino – is purple in colour and goes to the fastest legs at the head of the sprinter’s competition.

Azure blue goes to the leading climber, in the shape of the maglia azzurra whilst the best young rider wears the white maglia bianca. 

Read more: 

Past winners of the Giro d’Italia

2019 – Richard Carapaz
2018 – Chris Froome
2017 – Tom Dumoulin
2016 – Vincenzo Nibali
2015 – Alberto Contador
2014 – Nairo Quintana
2013 – Vincenzo Nibali
2012 – Ryder Hesjedal
2011 – Michele Scarponi
2010 – Ivan Basso
2009 – Denis Menchov
2008 – Alberto Contador
2007 – Danilo Di Luca
2006 – Ivan Basso
2005 – Paolo Savoldelli
2004 – Damiano Cunego
2003 – Gilberto Simoni
2002 – Paolo Savoldelli
2001 – Gilberto Simoni
2000 – Stefano Garzelli