Based on the last eight days, who was the true king of the cobbles? Imagine if the three great Classics ? the Tour of Flanders, Ghent-Wevelgem and Paris-Roubaix ? made up the stage race from hell.

By adding up the aggregate times of the riders who completed all three of the races in what the Belgians call ?Golden Week? we?ve come up with a general classification.

In total, 48 riders completed all three races. And at the end of more than 17 hours of racing, Alessandro Ballan and Fabian Cancellara were tied on time ? having finished in the same group in Ninove, Wevelgem and Roubaix.

To split them, we?ve offered time bonuses to the first three in each race ? so the Swiss rider edges it thanks to his second place in Roubaix and is crowned Cycling Weekly?s King of the Cobbles.

Credit must go to Britain?s Ian Stannard, in his first year as a professional with Landbouwkrediet, for finishing all three races.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<


Rules Only riders who completed all three races count. Times for each race are added, just like stages in a stage race. We?ve given time bonuses of 20, 12 and eight seconds to the first three riders in each race.

1 Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) CSC 17hr 16min 00sec

2 Alessandro Ballan (Italy) Lampre at 4sec

3 Stijn Devolder (Belgium) Quick Step at 3-29

4 Tom Boonen (Belgium) Quick Step at 4-49

5 Juan Antonio Flecha (Spain) Rabobank at 5-09

6 George Hincapie (USA) High Road at 5-25

7 Frédéric Guesdon (France) Française des Jeux at 6-04

8 Manuel Quinziato (Italy) Liquigas at 8-20

9 Roger Hammond (Great Britain) High Road at 10-26

= Christophe Mengin (France) Française des Jeux at 10-26

11 Bernhard Eisel (Austria) High Road at 10-29

12 Allan Johansen (Denmark) CSC at 11-37

= Martin Elmiger (Switzerland) Ag2r at 11-37

14 Kurt-Asle Arvesen (Denmark) CSC at 11-55

15 Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium) Silence-Lotto at 12-27

16 Filippo Pozzato (Italy) Liquigas at 15-53

17 Fabio Baldato (Italy) Lampre at 15-56

18 Matti Breschel (Denmark) CSC at 17-22

19 Pedro Horrillo (Spain) Rabobank at 19-56

20 Marco Marcato (Italy) Cycles Collstrop at 20-05

21 Kurt Hovelynck (Belgium) Topsport Vlaanderen at 23-48

22 Murilo Fischer (Brazil) Liquigas at 24-30

23 Frederik Willems (Belgium) Liquigas at 24-46

= Matteo Tosatto (Italy) Quick Step at 24-46

24 Peter Wrolich (Austria) Gerolsteiner at 25-54

25 Juan Jose Oroz (Spain) Euskaltel at 26-03

26 Paolo Longo Borghini (Italy) Barloworld at 26-52

27 Baden Cooke (Australia) Barloworld at 26-55

28 Marcus Ljungqvist (Sweden) CSC at 27-22

= Wim De Vocht (Belgium) Silence-Lotto at 27-22

30 Styn Vandenbergh (Belgium) Ag2r at 28-59

31 Sven Krauss (Germany) Gerolsteiner at 29-28

32 Frank Hoj (Denmark) Cofidis at 30-52

33 Floris Goesinen (Netherlands) Skil-Shimano at 31-01

34 Alexandre Pichot (France) Bouygues Telecom at 32-55

35 Imanol Erviti (Spain) Caisse d?Epargne at 34-01

= Heinrich Haussler (Germany) Gerolsteiner at 34-01

37 Fabio Sabatini (Italy) Milram at 34-10

38 Vicente Garcia Acosta (Spain) Caisse d?Epargne at 34-13

39 Luciano Pagliarini (Brazil) Saunier Duval at 35-10

40 Paolo Fornaciari (Italy) Lampre at 36-07

41 Lazslo Bodrogi (Hungary) Crédit Agricole at 37-53

42 Christian Knees (Germany) Milram at 38-59

= Aleksandr Kuschynski (Belarus) Liquigas at 38-59

= Mathieu Drujon (France) Caisse d?Epargne at 38-59

45 Ian Stannard (Great Britain) Landbouwkrediet at 39-08

= Marco Bandiera (Italy) Lampre at 39-08

= Mathieu Ladagnous (France) Française des Jeux at 39-08

= Mickael Delage (France) Française des Jeux at 39-08


Rules This classification is based on the same points scale offered at the end of the flat stages of the Tour de France ? the first 25 riders score, with 35 points going to the winner. To be eligible for this competition the riders do not need to have taken part in all three races.

1 Stijn Devolder (Belgium) Quick Step 54pts

2 Alessandro Ballan (Italy) Lampre 50pts

3 Tom Boonen (Belgium) Quick Step 44pts

4 Stuart O?Grady (Australia) CSC 40pts

= Juan Antonio Flecha (Spain) Rabobank 40pts

6 George Hincapie (USA) High Road 39pts

7 Martijn Maaskant (Netherlands) Slipstream 38pts

8 Nick Nuyens (Belgium) Cofidis 35pts

= Oscar Freire (Spain) Rabobank 35pts

9 Filippo Pozzato (Italy) Liquigas 33pts

= Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) CSC 33pts


Reports and reaction

Boonen wins his second Paris-Roubaix

Hammond?s hopes wrecked by crash

British youngster Fenn takes junior Paris-Roubaix


Boonen says he?s 100 per cent fit

The Cycling Weekly preview


Paris-Roubaix 2008 photo gallery>>