UCI Road World Championships 2017, Bergen, Norway

Peter Sagan wins Road World Championships (Bergen, Norway)

Peter Sagan (Slovakia) and Chantal Blaak (Netherlands) became the UCI World Champions of 2017 in Norway this September.

Sagan’s win took him to a total of three consecutive titles. Blaak’s win was a first, she was initially positioned in the race as a domestique working for time trial 1-2 duo Annemiek van Vleuten and Anna van der Breggen.

Chantal Blaak wins the elite women’s road race at the 2017 World Championships

The time trial titles went to Dutch Giro d’Italia winner, Tom Dumoulin and countrywoman Annemiek van Vleuten; with Team Sunweb dominating the TTT with wins in the women’s and men’s races.

Britain Tom Pidcock won the junior ITT, and Denmark’s Mikkel Bjerg won the under-23 time trial.

The junior road race went to Julius Johansen (Denmark), whilst Benoît Cosnefroy (France) won the under-23 men’s race. Italy’s Elena Pirrone took the junior women’s road and time trial crowns.

The championships took place in Bergen, over a lumpy course with a flat sprint finish – with several races resulting in breakaway wins.

The senior men’s race was the only road race which came down to a bunch sprint, with Sagan taking the win from Alexander Kristoff, on home turf, by just half a bike length.

What are the UCI Road World Championships?

UCI Road World Championship titles are contested for road race, individual time trial and team time trial events.

In the road race and individual TT, there are categories for elite men, elite women, junior men, under-23 men and junior women. The TTT is run using trade rather than national teams.

Winners of the senior individual time trial and road race earn the right to wear the coveted rainbow jersey of world champion for the following 12 months in that discipline.

In 2018, the World Championships will move to Innsbruck (Austria) and the 2019 edition will take place in Yorkshire (Great Britain).

2016 world champions who won in Doha (Qatar)

  • Women’s team time trial: Boels-Dolmans Report
  • Men’s team time trial: Etixx-QuickStep Report
  • Junior women’s time trial: Karlijen Swinkels (Netherlands) Report | Preview
  • Under-23 men’s time trial: Marco Mathis (Germany) Report | Preview
  • Junior men’s time trial: Brandon McNulty (USA) Report | Preview
  • Elite women’s time trial: Amber Neben (USA) Report | Start list | Preview
  • Elite men’s time trial: Tony Martin (Germany) Report | Start list | Preview
  • Under-23 men’s road race: Kristoffer Halvorsen (Norway) Report
  • Junior women’s road race: Elisa Balsamo (Italy) Report
  • Junior men’s road race: Jakob Egholm (Denmark) Report
  • Elite women’s road race: Amalie Dideriksen (Denmark) Report | Preview | Start list
  • Elite men’s road race: Peter Sagan (Slovakia) ReportPreview | Start list

Previous World Championship locations

  • 2016   Doha (Qatar)
  • 2015   Richmond, Virginia (USA)
  • 2014   Ponferrada (Spain)
  • 2013   Toscana (Italy)
  • 2012   Limburg (The Netherlands)
  • 2011   Copenhagen (Denmark)
  • 2010   Melbourne (Australia)

Key info: TV guide