David Clarke, James Furniss, Matt Clinton, Bill Bell, Jim Henderson and James Dobbin are just some of the top riders lining up in this year’s National Hill-Climb Championship in Matlock on Sunday, October 26.

Last man off James Dobbin (Arctic Premier RT – pictured) is the defending champion, having won on his local course in Cheddar, Somerset, last year. But he’s up against stiff competition this year, with any number of riders in great shape and looking to take the autumn title.

Matt Clinton (MikeVaughan.co.uk), third last year, has been on stunning form, and clocked up three hill-climb wins last weekend. David Clarke (Lacuna) is always in the mix, and this year could be his on a course that will suit him.

The course consists of Bank Road, Rutland Street and part of Wellington Street in Matlock. CW photographer Andy Jones’s Peak RC club-mate Steve Gibson rode the Matlock course and recorded some vital statistics on his Polar monitor. The average gradient is 12.4 per cent, 325 feet ascent and 0.511 miles in length.

The road has been recently re-surfaced and is ‘Tour de France’ super-smooth, so times should be fast. Word is that a 2-30 should be a medal-worthy time.

The first rider – Christine Howard of promoting club Matlock CC – is off at 12noon.

We’ll be covering the championship here on www.cyclingweekly.com with a full report and photo gallery.

1 Christine Howard, Matlock CC
2 Peter Turner, Derby Mercury RC
3 Tim Smith, Arctic Premier RT
4 Shaun Walsh, Yeovil CC
5 Mark Plowright, Beeston RC
6 Peter Doherty, South Pennine RC
7 Noel Adams, Mercia CC
8 Ben Kellett, Holme Valley Wheelers
9 Daniel Gee, Ashfield RC
10 Stewart House, Arctic Premier RT
11 Anton Blackie, Oxford University CC
12 Peter Greenhalgh, 45 Road Club
13 Matt Plews, Welland Valley CC
14 Paul Brierley, Huddersfield RC
15 Chris Leverton, Altura
16 Ethan Conlin, Stockton Wheelers
17 Laurie Brooking, Buxton CC
18 David Percival, Hull Thursday RC
19 Robert Adams, Severn RC
20 Adrian Lawrence, Lancashire RC
21 Ben Williams, Road Peace
22 Ken Roberts, Preston Wheelers
23 Paul Hodgkinson, Matlock CC
24 Peter Taylor, Leamington C & AC
25 James Ward, Cambridge CC
26 Corin Simmonds, Oxford City RC
27 Michael Cuming, Macclesfield Wheelers
28 Mark Shardlow, Derby Mercury RC
29 Robin Coomber, Johns Bike’s RT
30 Graham Pollard, Bob Jackson RT
31 David Watson, Coventry RC
32 Callum Rogers, Scunthorpe Poly CC
33 Mike Hudspith, Godric CC
34 Bill Bell, Gemini BC
35 Ian Taylor MTS, Cyclesport
36 Dave Groves, Severn RC
37 Joe Corden, Stone Wheelers
38 Simon Owens, Peak RC
39 Adrian Bird Team, Echeton – Spiuk
40 Andrew Graham, Bournemouth Jubilee Whs
41 Joshua Teasdale, Stockton Wheelers
42 John Whittington, Bristol Cycling Development Squad
43 Paul Smith, Blackburn & District CTC
44 Jimmy Wright, Preston Wheelers
45 Andy Marshall, VS Cycles – Brighouse
46 Steven Falk, Coventry RC
47 Ben Green, Manchester Wheelers
48 Jahan Hunter, Ashley Touring Club
49 David McGaw, Arctic Premier RT
50 Alan McCaffery, Nevis Cycles RT
51 David Francis, Sid Valley CC
52 Tony Grassby, Peak RC
53 Joe Smalley, Ashley Touring Club
54 Paul Robinson, Lyme Racing Club
55 Dominic Munnelly, KB Cycles RT
56 Nathan Turnbull, Leigh Premier RC
57 Mark Saunders, Mid Devon CC
58 Ian Shapiro, Stockport Clarion CC
59 Dave Griffiths, Paramount RT
60 Jack Shackleton, Peak Cycle Sports
61 Simon Wilson, Arctic Premier RT
62 Lewis Cowley, Plan B RT
63 Christopher Green, Matlock CC
64 Darren Atkins, Coventry RC
65 Charles Taylor, South Pennine RC
66 Craig Lamb, Alford Wheelers
67 Alexander King, GWR Team
68 Chris Sharp, Matlock CC
69 Andrew Steel, Sheffield Uni CC
70 Chris Edmondson, Blackburn & District CTC
71 Alex Hewins, Ratae RC
72 Andy Cosgrove, Teesdale CRC
73 Gareth Lewis, Solihull CC
74 Digby Symons, Cambridge CC
75 Nathan Chamberlain, Redhill CC
76 Ann Staley, Plan B RT
77 Gregory McCullum, Nottingham Clarion CC
78 Gareth William, Cheltenham & County CC
79 Richard Birkin, Ashfield RC
80 Sam Clark, Buxton CC
81 Vicky Dawson, Matlock CC
82 Xavier Disley, A3crg
83 Chris Metcalf, Matlock CC
84 Hugh Carthy, ScienceinSport.com
85 Adrian Rodgers, Worthing Excelsior CC
86 Jane Kilmartin, London Phoenix CC
87 Lee Cairns, Team Swift
88 Glyndwr Griffiths, Bristol South CC
89 John Ealing, Rossendale RC
90 Tim Bayley, Arctic Premier RT
91 Harriet Hudspith, Godric CC
92 Dougi Hall, Border City Wheelers CC
93 Chris Storer, Ashfield RC
94 Rob Jackson, Cambridge CC
95 Iashael Burdeau, www.agiskoviner.com
96 Denise Shackleton, Yorkshire Velo
97 Simon Gates, Solihull CC
98 Peter Colledge, Matlock CC
99 Rob Weare, Team Midland
100 James McLaughlin, Guernsey Velo Club
101 Sorrelle Le Cornu, Swindon RC
102 John Storms, Tri Cyclists
103 Mark Cook, Planet X
104 Matthew Woods, Stockton Wheelers
105 Robert Gough, John’s Bike RT
106 Claire Richards, Ashley Touring Club
107 Karl Proctor, Matlock CC
108 Jack Green, Westmead Team 88
109 Carlo Berton, Border City Whs CC
110 Chris Myhill, Peak RC
111 Lynn Hamel, TheGreenroomGroup.com
112 Geoff Southworth, Ashley Touring Club
113 Mark Solley, Mildenhall CC
114 Stephen Nunn, Arctic Premier RT
115 Adam Pinder, Blackburn & District CTC
116 Ann Bowditch, Scienceinsport.com
117 Jonathan Poole, Ashley Touring Club
118 Marianne Britten, VC St Raphael
119 Jonathan Knox, Kent Valley RC
120 Ian Stott, Blackburn & District CTC
121 Claire Thomas, Edinburgh RC
122 James Furniss, www.zepnat.com RT
123 Richard Towse, Buxton CC
124 Rob Pollen, Ashley Touring Club
125 Tejvan Pettinger, Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team
126 Alexandra Zebedee, Solihull CC
127 Duncan Putman, Derby Mercury RC
128 Jamie Richardson-Paige, Chippenham & District Wheelers
129 Marc Allen, Swindon RC
130 Danny Axford, Arctic Premier RT
131 Ruby Ellis, Bristol Cycling Development Squad
132 Simon Foster, North Notts Olympic RC
133 Chris Jones, Bynea CC
134 Daniel Arblaster, Guernsey Velo Club
135 Jim Henderson, Southport CC
136 Ralph Keeler, Cambridge CC
137 Jon Roebuck, Matlock CC
138 Michael Ives, MI Racing
139 David Boughton, Coventry RC
140 Matt Clinton, MikeVaughan.co.uk
141 Dave Preece, Worcester St Johns CC
142 William Hall, Heanor Clarion CC
143 Trevor Pain, North Hampshire RC
144 Paul Murphy, Tyneside Vagabonds CC
145 David Clarke, lacuna
146 Sam Hall, Border City Wheelers CC
147 James Fuller, Bournemouth Jubilee Whs
148 Mike Westmorland, Border City Wheelers CC
149 Neil Blessitt, Severn RC
150 James Dobbin, Arctic Premier RT

James Knox Kent Valley RC
Keith Flory Wrexham RC
Jack Beardsell Holme Valley Whs
Alistair Robinson Keswickbikes.com
Steve Gibson Peak RC
Richard Clough Rochdale Tri Club
Victoria Ware Keswickbikes.com
David Lowe ABC Centreville
Jacob Scott Holme Valley Whs

2008 National Hill-Climb info on Cycling Time Trials website