Dan Martin takes uphill victory on Tour de France stage six as Bardet and Dumoulin lose time

Irishman goes one better at Mûr de Bretagne than on the same finish three years ago

Dan Martin takes victory on stage six of the Tour de France

(Image credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) took a superb victory on stage six of the 2018 Tour de France as he attacked with a kilometre to go on the stage to Mûr de Bretagne.

The Irishman was the first rider able to open a gap on the finishing climb, and endured an agonising final run to the line as Pierre Latour (Ag2r La Mondiale) attacked behind.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.