Theo Bos wins Tour de Langkawi stage two

Crash-strewn finale sees Belkin duo Theo Bos and Graeme Brown take first and second on stage two of Tour de Langkawi

Dutch sprinter Theo Bos and team-mate Graeme Brown made it a one-two for Belkin at the end of stage two of the Tour de Langkawi in Malaysia on Friday. Austrian Marco Haller (Katusha) came home for third.


>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Although the results show the bunch finishing at the same time, the pictures tell a different story with Bos and Brown several bike lengths clear of a decimated pack that had suffered several crashes in the finale.

Andrea Guardini (Astana) was one of the worst affected, ending the day receiving medical treatment for a sizeable hole in his foot (do not click on link if you are squeamish).

Colombian stage one winner Duber Quintero retained the overall race lead. He sits 22 seconds ahead of Jonathan Clarke (UnitedHealthcare) and 24 seconds in front of Irishman Matt Brammeier (Synergy Baku) in third. Bos’s win moves him up to fifth overall.

The 10-stage UCI 2.HC-ranked race concludes on Saturday, March 8. Sunday’s stage four to Genting Highlands will provide the traditional shake-up of the race’s general classification.

Tour de Langkawi 2014, stage two: Sg. Petani to Taiping 132.5km
1. Theo Bos (Ned) Belkin in 3-11-11

2. Graeme Brown (Aus) Belkin
3. Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha
4. Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica-GreenEdge
5. Michal Kolar (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo
6. Dene Thomas Rogers (NZl) OCBC Singapore
7. Youcef Reguigui (Alg) MTN-Qhubeka
8. Matt Brammeier (Irl) Synergy Baku
9. Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan
10. Pavel Kochetkov (Rus) Katusha all same time

Overall classification after stage two
1. Duber Armando Quintero Artunduaga (Col) Colombia in 5-32-32

2. Jonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare at 22 secs
3. Matt Brammeier (Irl) Synergy Baku at 24 secs
4. Choon Huat Goh (Sin) OCBC Singapore at 33 secs
5. Theo Bos (Ned) Belkin at 1-27
6. Behnam Khalilikhosroshahi (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical at 1-28
7. Graeme Brown (Aus) Belkin at 1-31
8. Elchin Asadov (Aze) Synergy Baku at 1-31
9. Zhi Hui Jiang (Chn) Giant-Champion System at 1-35
10. Junrong Ho (Sin) OCBC Singapore at 1-36