Tour de France video archive: The Indurain years (91-95)

1991-1995: The Indurain years

Miguel Indurain became a part of cycling history by winning five Tour de France races in a row, from 1991 to 1995 (Bernard Hinault, Jacques Anquetil and Eddy Merckx had all won five times but not consecutively).

He is the only rider in history to have won the Giro and the Tour de France the same year twice in a row.

Indurain was an exceptionally strong on the flat rider, a time-trial specialist (he was world champion in 1995 then Olympic champion in 1996 in time-trial), he broke the hour-world-record in 1994 at the Bordeaux Vélodrome.

Related links

Tour de France 2011: Cycling Weekly’s coverage index

Halfords banner animated