Giro d’Italia standings: Final results from the 2020 race

Who has won the pink, purple, blue and white jerseys in the 2020 Giro d'Italia?

The 2020 Giro d’Italia is done and dusted and it is Tao Geoghegan-Hart who came out on top for Ineos Grenadiers on the last day, winning the overall and the white jersey by 39 seconds over Jai Hindley.

At the start of this race, Geoghegan-Hart was sent to the race to support the former Tour de France winner, Geraint Thomas. But Thomas crashed out on stage three and Tao lost plenty of time.

It wasn’t an awful start for Ineos though as Filippo Ganna took stage one and pink in his Grand Tour debut, he would go on to have a very special race.

>>> Tao Geoghegan Hart wins the Giro d’Italia 2020 after beating Jai Hindley in final time trial

Jai Hindley, by contrast, was keen to keep himself involved with GC from the start, with a solid enough opening time trial and some solid performances on the climbs as he supported his Sunweb leader, Wilco Kelderman.

But it was João Almeida who became the start of the show after taking pink on stage three at the top of Mount Etna. The 22 year old Portuguese rider would wear the leaders jersey for 15 days before finally letting go on stage 18.

The sprint days were completely dominated by one man and his team. Arnaud Démare and his Groupama-FDJ lead out train were unbeatable on the fast days taking four stages and the points jersey along the way with the French sprinter.

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) made an impact on his Giro debut but it wasn’t all his way as he was unable to toppled the might of Groupama-FDJ, therefore missing out on the points jersey.

The Slovakian superstar did come away with an incredible stage that he took solo from a breakaway on stage ten, but he was contained from there on in.

The mountain days were mostly breakaway days with a enthralling battle shaping up between Giovanni Visconti (Vini Zabù-Brado-KTM) and Ruben Guerreiro (EF Pro Cycling).

Visconti missed out on stage victory but came close on a number of occasions with Guerreiro taking a stage victory on stage nine. The lead changed between them almost stage by stage.

It was eventually decided when Visconti pulled out of the race with tendonitis, therefore making the challenge for blue a bit one sided from there.

The battle for white was very much the side dish to the battle for pink as Almeida, Hindley and Geoghegan-Hart all involved in the top placings at the end.

Ineos completed the perfect Grand Tour with the pink jersey, white jersey, the team classification and seven stage wins. Four wins for Filippo Ganna with three of them being time trials, two for Geoghegan-Hart and one for Jhonatan Narvaéz.

All three riders on the podium wore or won the pink jersey in the final week with the Sunweb riders having to settle for second and third as Ineos pull off another amazing Grand Tour win.

Here are the final Giro d’Itala 2020 standings:

Giro d’Italia standings

Final general classification

1. Tao Geoghegan-Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, in 85-40-21
2. Jai Hindley (Aus) Team Sunweb, at 39 seconds
3. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb, at 1-29
4. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 2-57
5. Pello Bilbao (Esp) Bahrain-McLaren, at 3-09
6. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, at 7-02
7. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo, at 8-15
8. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 8-42
9. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 9-57
10. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain-McLaren, at 11-05

Final points classification

1. Arnaud Démare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ, 233 points
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, 184 points
3. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, 108 points
4. Filippo Ganna (Ita) Ineos Grenadiers, 87 points
5. Josef Černý (Cze) CCC Team, 78 points
6. Andrea Vendrame (Ita) Ag2r La Mondiale, 78 points
7. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates, 77 points
8. Simon Pellaud (Sui) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec, 70 points
9. Tao Geoghegan-Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, 66 points
10. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe, 61 points.

Final mountains classification

1. Ruben Guerreiro (Por) EF Pro Cycling, 234 points
2. Tao Geoghegan-Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, 157 points
3. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto-Soudal, 122 points
4. Rohan Dennis (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers, 119 points + Cima Coppi
5. Ben O’Connor (Aus) NTT Pro Cycling, 71 points
6. Jai Hindley (Aus) Team Sunweb, 71 points
7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb, 55 points
8. Filippo Ganna (Ita) Ineos Grenadiers, 48 points
9. Jonathan Castroviejo (Esp) Ineos Grenadiers, 45 points
10. Einer Rubio (Col) Movistar Team, 44 points.

Final youth classification

1. Tao Geoghegan-Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, in 85-40-21
2. Jai Hindley (Aus) Team Sunweb, at 39 seconds
3.  João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 2-57
4. Sergio Samitier (Esp) Movistar Team, at 35-29
5. James Knox (GBr) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 37-41
6. Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Team Emirates, at 38-10
7. Aurélien Paret-Peintre (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale, at 45-04
8. Ben O’Connor (Aus) NTT Pro Cycling, 1-02-57
9. Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb, at 1-03-46
10. Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 1-13-49.

Final team classification

1. Ineos Grenadiers, in 257-15-58
2. Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 22-32
3. Team Sunweb, at 28-50
4. Bahrain-McLaren, at 32-50
5. Bora-Hansgrohe, at 1-12-34
6. NTT Pro Cycling, at 1-49-59
7. Ag2r La Mondiale, at 2-04-38
8. Movistar Team, at 2-08-26
9. Astana Pro Team, at 2-29-44
10. Trek-Segafredo, at 2-42-36.

Giro d’Italia 2020, stage 21: Cernusco sul Naviglio to Milan (15.7km ITT)

1. Filippo Ganna (Ita) Ineos Grenadiers, in 17-16
2. Victor Campenaerts (Bel) NTT, at 32 seconds
3. Rohan Dennis (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers, at same time
4. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 41s
5. Miles Scotson (Aus) Groupama-FDJ, at same time
6. Josef Cerny (Cze) CCC, at 44s
7. Chad Haga (USA) Sunweb, at same time
8. Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Team Emirates, at 46s
9. Kamil Gradek (Pol) CCC, at 47s
10. Jan Tratnik (Slo) Bahrain-McLaren, at same time


13. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, at 58s
38. Jai Hindley (Aus) Sunweb, at 1-37