Giro d’Italia

Dates: Saturday October 3 – October 25
Stages: 21
Grande Partenza: TBC
Finish: Milan

Richard Carapaz finishing stage 15 of the Giro d’Italia 2019 (Luk Benies/AFP/Getty Images)

The Giro d’Italia is one of cycling’s three Grand Tours, along with the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España. It is the first of the three week races of the cycling season, usually taking place in May into early June. Due to the global coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 edition of the race was moved to October 3 to 25.

As you might expect, the race predominantly takes place within its home country of Italy, but has frequently visited other nations in its 102 editions so far – the 103rd edition in 2020 was meant to start in Hungary until the coronavirus postponement.

This year’s edition of the race is expected to attract some serious talent despite plenty of riders opting to target the Tour de France in August/September and the Classics in October.

Team Ineos will be sending their new star signing and defending champion Richard Carapaz to the Giro, but he’ll face stiff competition from the likes of two-time winner Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), and debutant Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step).

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) will be making his Giro debut this season, forgoing the Classics, but will come up against a tough sprinting line-up that includes Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal), Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ), and Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma).

The 2020 Giro d’Italia’s route is still to be fully concluded following the pandemic postponement.

The Giro is well known for its long, high mountain stages in the Alps and Dolomites, making famous names of climbs like the Passo dello Stelvio, Passo Gavia, Monte Zoncolan, Passo di Mortirolo and Passo Giau among others. But the Giro is often decided by it’s testing time trials, with the 2020 edition featuring three, including one on the final day.

Anyone hoping to win the Giro overall will also need to navigate numerous sprint stages and medium mountain stages, which offer up opprtunities to riders looking for prestigious individual stage wins that can define careers.

Giro d’Italia 2020 route

Stage Date Start Finish Distance Terrain
1 Sat Oct 3 ??? ??? ??? ???
2 Sun Oct 4 ??? ??? ??? ???
3 Mon Oct 5 ??? ??? ??? ???
4 Tues Oct 6 Monreale Agrigento 136km Hills
5 Weds Oct 7 Enna Etna 150km Mountains
6 Thurs Oct 8 Catania Villafranca Tirrena 138km Hills
7 Fri Oct 9 Mileto Camigliatello Silano 223km Hills
8 Sat Oct 10 Castrovillari Brindisi 216km Flat
9 Sun Oct 11 Giovinazzo Vieste 190km Hills
Mon Oct 12 Rest day
10 Tues Oct 13 San Salvo Tortoreto Lido 212km Hills
11 Weds Oct 14 Porto Sant’Elpidio Rimini 181km Flat
12 Thurs Oct 15 Cesenatico Cesenatico 206km Hills
13 Fri Oct 16 Cervia Monselice 190km Flat
14 Sat Oct 17 Conegliano Valdobbiadene 33.7km ITT
15 Sun Oct 18 Rivolto Piancavallo 183km Mountains
Mon Oct 19 Rest day
16 Tues Oct 20 Udine Valdobbiadene 226km Mountains
17 Weds Oct 21 Bassano del Grappa Madonna di Campiglio 202km Mountains
18 Thurs Oct 22 Pinzolo Lago di Cancano 209km Mountains
19 Fri Oct 23 Morbegno Asti 251km Flat
21 Sat Oct 24 Alba Sestriere 200km Mountains
21 Sun Oct 25 Cernusco di Naviglio Milan 16.5km ITT

Giro d’Italia 2020 jerseys

Richard Carapaz in the pink jersey after stage 14 of the Giro d’Italia 2019 (Yuzuru Sunada)

The leader’s jersey at the Giro d’Italia is the maglia rosa – it’s the pink jersey that sits aboard the shoulders of the rider who has completed the stages in the shortest amount of time.

The sprinter’s jersey – the maglia ciclamino – is purple in colour and goes to the fastest legs at the head of the sprinter’s competition.

Azure blue goes to the leading climber, in the shape of the maglia azzurra whilst the best young rider wears the white maglia bianca. 

Read more: 

Past winners of the Giro d’Italia

2019 – Richard Carapaz
2018 – Chris Froome
2017 – Tom Dumoulin
2016 – Vincenzo Nibali
2015 – Alberto Contador
2014 – Nairo Quintana
2013 – Vincenzo Nibali
2012 – Ryder Hesjedal
2011 – Michele Scarponi
2010 – Ivan Basso
2009 – Denis Menchov
2008 – Alberto Contador
2007 – Danilo Di Luca
2006 – Ivan Basso
2005 – Paolo Savoldelli
2004 – Damiano Cunego
2003 – Gilberto Simoni
2002 – Paolo Savoldelli
2001 – Gilberto Simoni
2000 – Stefano Garzelli